Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup 2023 banner


The Asia Cup 2023 will be the 16th edition of the Asia Cup, with matches played as One Day Internationals (ODIs) and hosted jointly by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Six teams will compete in the competition. It will take place in August and September of 2023. The reigning champions are Sri Lanka. It will be the first Asia Cup to be co-hosted by different nations, with four matches taking place in Pakistan and the other nine in Sri Lanka.

The event will include five full members of the Asian Cricket Council: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Nepal, who qualified by winning the 2023 ACC Men’s Premier Cup, will join them. Nepal will make its ACC Asia Cup debut after qualifying for the first time. The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) revealed the route structure and schedule for 2023 and 2024 in January 2023, when they confirmed the event dates and format. The tournament was originally set for 2021, however it was pushed out to 2023 owing of the COVID-19 epidemic.

The Asia Cup 2023 will start on August 31, with events in Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The final will be on September 17. Discover match timings, team updates, and more. Don’t miss a moment of the action!

Asia Cup 2023 Format

The Asia Cup is played in two formats: T20I (20 overs) and ODI (50 overs). The format for the Asia Cup 2023 will be a 50-over match. All six qualified teams will play round-robin group and knockout matches. The final match will feature the top two teams from the Super 4 round.

Asia Cup 2023 Venue

In 2023, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will host the Asia Cup cricket event. Keep an eye on this space for venue updates.Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore National Cricket Stadium, Karachi

Teams and qualification

Means of qualification Date Host Berths Qualified
ICC Full Member Pakistan Pakistan Sri Lanka Sri Lanka 5

 Afghanistan  Bangladesh  India  Pakistan  Sri Lanka

2023 ACC Men’s Premier Cup 18 April — 2 May 2023 Nepal Nepal 1


Predicted Squads

 Afghanistan  Bangladesh  India    Nepal  Pakistan  Sri Lanka
  1. Rashid Khan
  2. M. Nabi
  3. Ibrahim Zadran
  4. Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  5. Najibullah Zadran
  6. R.Gurbaz
  7. Fareed Rahmad
  1. Shakib Al Hasan
  2. Mushfiqur Rahim
  3. Tamim Iqbal
  4. Mustafizur Rahman
  5. Litton Das
  6. Mominul Haque
  7. Mominul Haque
  1. Rohit Sharma (C)
  2. Shubhman Gill,
  3. Hardik Pandya
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Ravindra Jadeja,
  6. Mohammad Shami
  7. Yuzvendra Chahal
  8. Mayank Aggarwal
  9. Kedhar Jadav
  1. Sandeep Lamichhane
  2. Rohit Paudel
  3. Gulsan Jha
  4. Kushal Malla
  5. Aarif Sheikh
  6. Arjun Saud
  7. Karan KC
  8. Gyanendra Malla
  9. Dev Khanal.
  1. Babar Azam (c)
  2. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  3. Naseem Shah
  4. Mohammad Rizwan
  5. Shadab Khan
  6. Mohammad Nawaz
  7. Fakhar Zaman
  8. Imam-ul-haq
  9. Haris Rauf
  10. Naseem Shah
  1. Mahela Jayawardene
  2. Kusal Mendis
  3. Dasun Shanaka
  4. Dimuth Karunaratne
  5. Angelo Mathews
  6. Charith Asalanka
  7. W. Hasaranga

Group stage

Group A

Pos Team Pld W L T NR Pts NRR
1  Pakistan (H) 2 1 0 0 1 3 4.760
2  India 2 1 0 0 1 3 1.028
3    Nepal 2 0 2 0 0 0 −3.572
(H) Host

  Advances to Super Four

Group B

Pos Team Pld W L T NR Pts NRR
1  Sri Lanka (H) 2 2 0 0 0 4 0.594
2  Bangladesh 2 1 1 0 0 2 0.373
3  Afghanistan 2 0 2 0 0 0 −0.910
(H) Host

  Advances to Super Four

Super Four

The Pakistan Cricket Board, which is in charge of organizing the event, said that the 11th of September will be a reserve day for the Super Four matchup between India and Pakistan. In the event that the reserve day is used, the match will pick up where it left off on September 11 from the point where it was halted. With their 41-run victory against Sri Lanka, India became the first side to secure a spot in the championship match.

Points table

Pos Team Pld W L NR Pts NRR
1  India (Q) 2 2 0 0 4 2.690
2  Sri Lanka 2 1 1 0 2 −0.200
3  Pakistan 2 1 1 0 2 −1.892
4  Bangladesh (E) 2 0 2 0 0 −0.749
(E) Eliminated; (Q) Qualified for the phase indicated

  Advances to Final

Winning Prediction for the Asia Cup 2023

The top three contenders for the Asia Cup 2023 are India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. The Asia Cup winner’s history is shown below.
Year Winner Team Runner Up
2023 TBD TBD
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan
2018 India Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh
2010 India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India
2004 Sri Lanka India
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka
1997 Sri Lanka India
1995 India Sri Lanka
1990-91 India Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan
1984 India Sri Lanka

Asia Cup 2023 Host Country

The Asia Cup 2023 host country is still unknown, and ACC officials are currently considering the critical scenario of releasing the name of the host country in which all matches will be played. According to reports, Pakistan will be the host country for the Asia Cup in 2023.

However, India, the backbone of the Asia Cup 2023, declined to compete in Pakistan. In such a case, the ACC is confronted with a serious circumstance and is unable to make a final judgment. You can wait for the official announcement and check out the Asia Cup 2023 itinerary in the meanwhile.

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents