Home / News /

The Final of the Cricket World Cup: Everything You Need to Know

Cricket World Cup
Cricket World Cup 2023

India and Australia are preparing to face off in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 final. This is all the information you’ll require.

Match Schedule

Sunday 19 November – Final: India vs Australia

At the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, well over a hundred thousand people will gather to watch a rematch of the 2003 final, which Australia won by 125 runs in Johannesburg.

How the teams qualified

INDIA sailed through the group stage, topping the standings with 18 points after nine wins. India’s 2.570 net run rate was the highest of any group.

Virat Kohli strolled to his 50th ODI century, eclipsing Sachin Tendulkar, after a strong start with the bat from Rohit Sharma and fellow opener Shubman Gill in the semi-final match against New Zealand. Despite a century from Daryl Mitchell and a strong effort by the Kiwis, who put up an impressive 397, they were ultimately defeated by 70 runs.

AUSTRALIA after losing their first two matches against India and South Africa and falling to last place in the standings, rallied to win their final seven matches, earn 14 points, and make the playoffs.

Pat Cummins’s team entered their semi-final rematch with South Africa as small underdogs, but the Australians got off to a strong start and limited South Africa to 24 for 4. Despite the Proteas’ best efforts and David Miller’s century, Cummins and Mitchell Starc held on for a thrilling three-wicket triumph.

The Squads

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

World Cup Pedigree

Tournament hosts India is eyeing a first major ICC global tournament win in 12 years, and will have the crowd on their side on home soil, as they did in 2011.

Australia is the most successful nation in the history of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup and would make it six wins should they triumph in India.

Reserve Day

A reserve day can be taken should a result not be reached due to weather.

Prize Money

The tournament has a US$10 million pot. The winner of the tournament will take home US$4 million, with the runners-up winning US$2 million.

Teams also collected US$40,000 for every group stage win.

How to watch

The ICC’s Global broadcast partner Disney Star and its licensees will broadcast the match on a global basis.

In India, Star Sports Network will be the place to watch, while cricket’s first-of-its-kind vertical feed coverage produced by ICC TV and supported by Disney Star continues, providing fans with an easier and more intuitive mobile phone viewing experience allowing users to consume content on-the-go.

Fox Sports and Kayo will be the home of Australian coverage along with select matches on Channel Nine and 9Now. Fans in the UK can catch the action live on Sky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Mix, Sky Showcase and digitally via the SkyGO and Sky Sports App. Primetime, free-to-air highlights will be available on Channel 5 and My5 App for the first time.

WillowTV will be the channel to watch for fans in the USA whilst coverage will also be available via the ESPN+ app. SuperSport and its app will broadcast the action in South Africa and to the 52 Sub-Saharan Africa territories. For fans in New Zealand, Sky Sport NZ is the place to be for Men’s Cricket World Cup matches.

In the UAE and the entire MENA region, all matches will be streamed Live on STARZPLAY, with broadcast coverage made available on CricLife MAX in the UAE. 

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

The largest sports stadium in the world hosted the tournament opener on 5 October, India’s win over Pakistan on 14 October, and is the venue for the tournament final.

The 132,000-capacity venue’s redevelopment was completed in 2021, hosting a day-night Test between India and England, as well as the last two IPL finals.


More Trending News

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents