Home / News /

Daryl Mitchell is named to the International Cricket Council’s World Cup squad.

In the recent World Cup semifinal, Daryl Mitchell celebrates his century against India.
In the recent World Cup semifinal, Daryl Mitchell celebrates his century against India.

Daryl Mitchell of New Zealand has been picked to the ICC World Cup squad, but Australia’s final hero Travis Head has been left out.

Despite blasting a stunning 137 in Sunday’s final to bring Australia to their sixth ODI World Cup title, Head lost out on a berth in the ICC XI.

With a fractured hand, the South Australian missed the first half of the tournament but burst with a century against New Zealand in his first game.

Head scored 329 runs at 54.83 in six matches, including being named player of the match in Australia’s semifinal and final victories.

With bat and ball, the 29-year-old transformed Thursday’s semi-final in Kolkata, taking two crucial wickets as South Africa rebuilt their innings and then top-scoring with 62 during a difficult chase.

Head pulled off a fantastic grab in the decider to eliminate India skipper Rohit Sharma, who had threatened to take the game away from Australia.

The opener, along with Marnus Labuschagne, kept Australia’s 240-run chase on track after the tourists got off to a shaky start at 3-47, with the Narendra Modi Stadium crowd fully behind India’s charge.

India, headed by tournament MVP Virat Kohli, had three hitters in the top five, and Rohit Sharma was named captain. There are six Indian players in all.

Mitchell shot 137 in New Zealand’s semifinal loss to India, as well as 130 in the tournament’s group defeat against the hosts. He also had 54 points versus Australia.

There was no room for 24-year-old Black Caps allrounder Rachin Ravindra, who scored centuries against England, Australia, and Pakistan while also taking five wickets.

Glenn Maxwell, the sole Australian selection, hit two hundreds, including an unbroken 201 in a winning chase against Afghanistan.

There was also room for Adam Zampa, who, like Australia, struggled at first but finished with 23 wickets in 11 games, the most by a spinner in a men’s ODI World Cup.

Despite missing the first four matches of the tournament, star Indian fast Mohammed Shami was selected at No.11 despite having little influence in the final.

ICC team of the 2023 men’s ODI World Cup

1. Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

2. Rohit Sharma (capt) (India)

3. Virat Kohli (India)

4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)

5. KL Rahul (India)

6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia)

7. Ravindra Jadeja (India)

8. Jasprit Bumrah (India)

9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka)

10. Adam Zampa (Australia)

11. Mohammed Shami (India)

12th man: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)



More Trending News

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents