Home / News /

Regulars including Warner are likely to miss India T20Is.

t20 world cup
David Warner will miss the T20I series against India

David Warner is expected to miss the Twenty20 International series against India, which begins on November 23, 2023, just four days after the two teams met in the Men’s World Cup final of 2023.

Warner, who is scheduled to retire from Test cricket following next year’s Sydney Test against Pakistan, amassed 535 runs at a nearly 50-run average during the World Cup. A multitude of multi-format players, including the opening batsman, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Cam Green, and Mitchell Marsh, are resting for the series.

“Selectors decided Warner would return home on the back of a successful yet demanding World Cup campaign,” according to a statement from Cricket Australia.

The Twenty20 International squad has been expanded to include pace-bowling all-rounder Aaron Hardie of Western Australia, who made his debut for Australia in South Africa earlier this year. Additionally, Spencer Johnson has been substituted with Kane Richardson while he recovers from a hamstring injury.

It has been announced that Andre Borovec will serve as interim coach in place of Andrew McDonald, who will be returning home for a vacation.

Matthew Wade will captain Australia in this series, which will conclude a lengthy tour of India that commenced in September 2023 with a three-match One-Day International series and concludes with a Twenty20 International series. The tour also included a World Cup, which Australia won by defeating hosts India in the championship match to secure their sixth title.

Mitchell Marsh is expected to assume the permanent leadership of the Twenty20 International team following the series, in anticipation of the 2024 T20 World Cup, which will take place in the Americas and the Caribbean. In February 2024, Australia will also play a three-match series against the West Indies and New Zealand in preparation for the global Twenty20 championship.

Matt Short, Steve Smith, Tanveer Sangha, Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, and Adam Zampa comprise the Australia Twenty20 International squad.


More Trending News

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents